Skip to main content

Hillsboro Health and Rehab: Abuse Not Reported to State - OR

Hillsboro Health and Rehab: Abuse Not Reported to State - OR
Healthcare Facility
Hillsboro Health And Rehabilitation
Hillsboro, OR  ·  3/5 stars

That is what federal inspectors found when they arrived at Hillsboro Health and Rehabilitation Center on August 12, 2025, responding to a complaint. What they documented was not a close call about paperwork. It was a nursing home that identified a sexual abuse allegation involving two residents with significant cognitive impairments, confirmed neither could consent, and then said nothing to Oregon state authorities.

The resident at the center of the incident, identified in inspection records as Resident 6, had been admitted to the facility in January 2025 with a diagnosis of dementia. A cognitive assessment completed on June 9, 2025, the same day as the incident, showed a BIMS score of 5. That score indicates severe cognitive impairment. A sexual capacity evaluation completed that day concluded Resident 6 did not have sufficient memory or cognitive function to choose to engage in sexual activity.

Resident 10, the other person involved, had a BIMS score of 8 as of a January 2025 assessment, indicating moderate cognitive impairment. The same June 9 evaluation process found that Resident 10 also lacked the memory and cognitive function to make that choice.

Both residents, in other words, were legally incapable of consenting to what happened between them.

A certified medication aide identified in the report as Staff 20 told inspectors on August 11 that she had walked in on the scene on June 9. She saw Resident 6 sitting on Resident 10's bed. Resident 10 was touching Resident 6's breasts and offering her money. Staff separated them.

That was not the only account.

A registered nurse, Staff 21, told inspectors the following morning that she had seen Resident 6 walk into Resident 10's room on June 9 and observed the two of them kissing. Staff redirected Resident 6 away from Resident 10's room.

The LPN Resident Care Manager, identified as Staff 3, told inspectors he had been made aware of the situation on June 9. He knew about kissing on June 8 and June 9. He completed the sexual capacity evaluations for both residents himself and determined that neither could consent to intimate activity. He knew what the evaluations showed. He knew what staff had witnessed.

Nobody reported it to the state.

When inspectors asked the facility's administrator, identified as Staff 1, about the reporting, he told them he was unable to locate any evidence the incident had been reported to the Oregon state agency. He acknowledged it was his responsibility to make that report.

Resident 10, when interviewed by inspectors on August 11, said he or she did not remember the incident. Resident 6 could not be interviewed. That resident was no longer at the facility.

The gap between what staff knew and what the state was told is the core of what inspectors cited. The facility had all the information it needed by June 9: two firsthand staff accounts of sexual contact, a clinical determination that neither resident could consent, and a care manager who had personally completed the evaluations and been notified. What followed was more than two months of silence. Inspectors did not arrive until August 12.

Abuse reporting requirements for nursing homes exist specifically because facilities cannot investigate themselves without outside oversight. When a home identifies what may be abuse, the state agency is supposed to be notified so it can determine whether an independent investigation is warranted, whether other residents are at risk, and whether the facility's response was adequate. None of that process was triggered here. The state learned about the June 9 incident only because someone filed a complaint.

The inspection report does not say who filed the complaint or when. It does not say whether Resident 6 was discharged before or after the incident, or what, if any, protective measures were put in place for Resident 10 in the weeks that followed. It does not say whether the two residents had contact with each other again between June 9 and August 12.

What it does say is that two staff members witnessed sexual contact involving a resident with severe cognitive impairment and a resident with moderate cognitive impairment, that the facility's own clinical evaluations confirmed neither person could consent, that the care manager responsible for those evaluations was informed the same day, and that the administrator later admitted he could find no evidence anyone had made the required call.

CMS rated the harm level for this deficiency as minimal harm or potential for actual harm. That classification reflects the regulatory framework's assessment of documented injury, not a judgment about the seriousness of what happened. A facility's failure to report an abuse allegation involving residents who cannot protect or advocate for themselves is, by definition, a failure of the oversight system that exists to protect them.

The inspection report covers two residents, both reviewed specifically because of the abuse reporting failure. The deficiency tag applied covers the facility's obligation to immediately report allegations of abuse to the state agency and other authorities.

Resident 6 was admitted in January 2025 with dementia. By June, a formal evaluation had confirmed what her diagnosis already suggested: she could not make decisions about sexual activity. She was sitting on another resident's bed when a staff member found her. She is no longer at the facility. The inspection report does not say where she went or under what circumstances she left. It does not say whether anyone told her family what happened on June 9, or what happened in the weeks that followed while the facility stayed quiet.

Full Inspection Report

The details above represent a summary of key findings. View the complete inspection report for Hillsboro Health and Rehabilitation from 2025-08-12 including all violations, facility responses, and corrective action plans.

Download the official CMS inspection PDF from Medicare.gov

Additional Resources

Editorial Standards & Data Disclosure

Data source: This article is based on inspection data downloaded directly from the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services (CMS) via Medicare.gov. CMS releases inspection reports in bulk; we publish the findings as documented by state surveyors in the official Form CMS-2567 Statement of Deficiencies.

Plan of correction: The CMS report we receive does not include the facility's plan of correction. Facilities submit plans of correction separately to state survey agencies and those responses may not be reflected in CMS data at the time of publication. The absence of a plan of correction in our data does not mean one was not filed. Readers who want information about corrective steps taken are encouraged to contact the facility directly or their state survey agency.

Corrections may have occurred: Inspection reports reflect conditions observed on the date of the survey. Facilities may have implemented corrections, staffing changes, additional training, or other remediation since the report was issued. We report what CMS provides and encourage readers to seek current information from the facility.

Editorial process: Inspection findings are extracted from CMS source documents and synthesized using AI, reviewed for factual accuracy against the original report by our editorial team.

Corrections: We strive for accuracy in everything we publish. If you believe any fact in this article is incorrect, please contact us with details, and we will review and correct it promptly.

Professional review: All content reviewed by Christopher F. Nesbitt, Sr., NH EMT & BU-trained Paralegal.

Last verified: November 3, 2026  ·  Our methodology

Quick Answer

HILLSBORO HEALTH AND REHABILITATION in HILLSBORO, OR was cited for abuse-related violations during a health inspection on August 12, 2025.

That is what federal inspectors found when they arrived at Hillsboro Health and Rehabilitation Center on August 12, 2025, responding to a complaint.

Health inspections identify deficiencies that facilities must correct. Violations range from minor documentation issues to serious safety concerns. Review the full report below for specific details and facility response.

Frequently Asked Questions

What happened at HILLSBORO HEALTH AND REHABILITATION?
That is what federal inspectors found when they arrived at Hillsboro Health and Rehabilitation Center on August 12, 2025, responding to a complaint.
How serious are these violations?
These are very serious violations that may indicate significant patient safety concerns. Federal regulations require nursing homes to maintain the highest standards of care. Families should review the full inspection report and consider whether this facility meets their safety expectations.
What should families do?
Families should: (1) Ask facility administration about specific corrective actions taken, (2) Request to see the follow-up inspection report verifying corrections, (3) Check if this represents a pattern by reviewing prior inspection reports, (4) Compare this facility's ratings with other nursing homes in HILLSBORO, OR, (5) Report any new concerns directly to state authorities.
Where can I see the full inspection report?
The complete inspection report is available on Medicare.gov's Care Compare website (www.medicare.gov/care-compare). You can also request a copy directly from HILLSBORO HEALTH AND REHABILITATION or from the state Department of Health. The report includes specific deficiency codes, facility responses, and correction timelines. This facility's federal provider number is 385217.
Has this facility had violations before?
To check HILLSBORO HEALTH AND REHABILITATION's history, visit Medicare.gov's Care Compare and review their inspection history, quality ratings, and staffing levels. Look for patterns of repeated violations, especially in critical areas like abuse prevention, medication management, infection control, and resident safety.